The Executive Council of British Columbia as at December 31, 1973

Premier, President of the Council, and Minister of Finance, Hon. David Barrett

Provincial Secretary and Minister of Travel Industry, Hon. Ernest Hall

Attorney General, Hon. Alexander Barrett Macdonald

Minister of Lands, Forests and Water Resources, Hon. Robert Arthur Williams

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. David Daniel Stupich Minister of Mines and Petroleum Resources, Hon. Leo Thomas Nimsick

Minister of Transport and Communications, Hon. Robert Martin Strachan

Minister of Labour, Hon. William Stewart King Minister of Education, Hon. Eileen Elizabeth Dailly Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. James Gibson Lorimer

Minister of Health, Hon. Dennis Geoffrey Cocke Minister of Public Works, Hon. William Leonard Hartley

Minister of Human Resources, Hon. Norman Levi Minister of Highways, Hon. Graham Richard Lea Minister of Industrial Development, Trade and Commerce, Hon. Gary Vernon Lauk

Minister of Recreation and Conservation, Hon. Jack Radford

Minister of Consumer Services, Hon. Phyllis Florence Young

Minister of Housing, Hon. Lorne Nicolson.

## 3.3.2 Territorial governments

3.3.2.1 Yukon Territory

The Yukon was established as a separate territory in 1898 to meet a need for local government created by the influx of miners during the gold rush. The Yukon Territory Act provided for a Commissioner and a Council of not more than six, all appointed by the Governor in Council. The Commissioner in Council was given legislative powers comparable to those held by the Lieutenant Governor and the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories. By 1902, five elected councillors had been added and in 1908 a fully elected Council of 10 members was introduced. A population decline following the end of the gold rush was accelerated by enlistment during World War I and in 1919 the Council was reduced to three elected members. This remained the level of government until after World War II when population and economic activity again showed an increase, beginning with the building of the Alaska Highway. In 1960, the Council was increased to seven elected members and provision was made for the appointment of an Advisory Committee on Finance.

A principal feature of territorial government is its very close constitutional and working relationship with the Government of Canada. Although the provinces and the federal government each have jurisdiction and powers allocated by the British North America Act, the authority of the territorial government is allocated only by federal legislation. The Yukon Act prescribes the structure of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of the territorial government and the scope of their authority; all residual matters remain under federal control. The Yukon Territory has fully representative but not responsible government. Under authority of the Act, Whitehorse was designated as the seat of government in 1953.

The Government Organization Act, 1966, which describes the responsibilities of the Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development for the development of northern Canada, is the other piece of basic legislation under which the territorial government operates. The Minister is responsible for the management of natural resources, except game, and for the development of the North generally. Although he shares authority with the Governor in Council for directing the Commissioner in his duties, he is the effective link between the territorial and federal governments.

The Executive. The executive side of the territorial government is headed by a Commissioner appointed by the federal government. He is directed to administer the government of the Yukon Territory under instruction from the Governor in Council or the Minister of Indian Affairs and Northern Development. In practice, the Commissioner is much more responsive to the wishes of his elected Council than the Yukon Act implies and he cannot spend any territorial funds which have not been voted by Council. A growing body of territorial ordinances require Council approval for specific actions; in practice, the Commissioner never acts on any major issue without consulting Council.

Because the Commissioner does not sit with Council, the Yukon Act was amended in 1960 to bridge the gap between the executive and legislative functions of government at Council sessions. The amendment provided for the formation of an Advisory Committee on Finance composed of three members of Council appointed by the Commissioner on the advice